Dr. Matthias Hofmann
German Patent Attorney
European Patent and Trade Mark Attorney
Diplom-Physiker
Contact

Pettenkoferstraße 22
80336 Munich
Germany

T +49 (89) 55 96 80

F +49 (89) 55 96 85 090

Your message to Dr. Matthias Hofmann

hofmann_matthias_portrait_08092016.jpg

Matthias focuses on examination, opposition, and appeal proceedings before the European Patent Office and the German Patent and Trade Mark Office. Most of his work is related to computer-implemented inventions, in particular relating to artificial intelligence. He has in-depth technical expertise in the fields of machine learning, medical imaging, video and image processing, computer architecture, telecommunications, and bio-informatics (computational genomics).

Matthias studied physics and computer science at the University of Tübingen and the University of Cambridge, UK. He obtained his doctoral degree from the Department of Information Engineering at the University of Oxford, UK, with a topic on applying machine learning to medical imaging. He also conducted research at the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems and at the Laboratory for Preclinical Imaging at the University of Tübingen. His publications have won international awards and received more than 1000 citations. Patents for Matthias‘ inventions are being licensed by a major medical device manufacturer.

Matthias is frequently in China and in 2017 was appointed as Guest Professor of the IP School at the University of Nanjing University of Science and Technology.

Matthias has been working in the field of intellectual property rights since 2010. He was admitted as German patent attorney in 2013, and as European patent attorney in 2014. He joined BOEHMERT & BOEHMERT at the beginning of 2015. 

Matthias is a member of the German Chamber of Patent Attorneys, the Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (epi), and the International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI).

Dr. Matthias Hofmann
Patentanwalt
European Patent and Trade Mark Attorney
Diplom-Physiker
Kontakt

Pettenkoferstraße 22
80336 München
Deutschland

T +49 (89) 55 96 80

F +49 (89) 55 96 85 090

Ihre Nachricht an Dr. Matthias Hofmann

hofmann_matthias_portrait_08092016.jpg

Matthias Hofmann führt Prüfungs-, Einspruchs- und Beschwerdeverfahren vor dem Europäischen Patentamt und dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt. Er befasst sich vorwiegend mit computerimplementierten Erfindungen, wobei Künstliche Intelligenz, Bildgebungsverfahren, Video- und Bildverarbeitung, Computer-Architektur, Telekommunikation und Bioinformatik (Analyse von Gendaten) zu seinen wichtigsten technischen Fachbereichen zählen.

Matthias Hofmann studierte Physik und Informatik an der Universität Tübingen und der University of Cambridge, UK. Während des Studiums war er Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. Anschließend promovierte am Information Engineering Department der University of Oxford, wobei er maschinelles Lernen auf medizinische Bildgebung anwandte. Weiterhin war er für seine Forschung am Max-Planck Institut für Intelligente Systeme und am Labor für präklinische Bildgebung der Universität Tübingen tätig. Die Publikationen von Matthias Hofmann haben internationale Preise gewonnen und werden in über 1000 anderen Publikationen zitiert. Patente für seine Erfindungen werden von einem großen Medizingerätehersteller lizenziert.

Matthias Hofmann ist regelmäßig in China unterwegs und wurde 2017 zum Gast-Professor an der IP School der Nanjing University of Science and Technology ernannt.

Seit 2010 arbeitet Matthias Hofmann auf dem Gebiet des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes. Seine Zulassung als deutscher Patentanwalt erlangte er im Jahre 2013. Im darauffolgenden Jahr wurde er als Vertreter vor dem europäischen Patentamt und dem Amt der europäischen Union für Geistiges Eigentum zugelassen. Seit Anfang 2015 gehört er zum Team von BOEHMERT & BOEHMERT.

Matthias Hofmann ist Mitglied der Deutschen Patentanwaltskammer, des Instituts der beim Europäischen Patentamt zugelassenen Vertreter (epi) sowie der International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI).