Dr. Rudolf Böckenholt, LL.M.
Attorney at Law (Germany)
Certified IP Lawyer
Contact

Hollerallee 32
28209 Bremen
Germany

T +49 (421) 340 90

F +49 (421) 349 17 68

Your message to Dr. Rudolf Böckenholt, LL.M.

boeckenholt_portrait.jpg

Rudolf Böckenholt focuses on trade mark and unfair competition matters. His work in developing intellectual property portfolios is accompanied by enforcing such rights, be it in infringement proceedings, border seizure matters, or in permanent market monitoring and investigations. He predominantly consults medium-sized and large international clients in the areas of media, food, consumer products, and pharma. Rudolf Böckenholt often advises in cases where IP rights overlap or intersect, and in neighboring pharma and food law. He is also active in contentious matters concerning technical property rights, with a focus on mechanical engineering.

He studied law at the University of Münster with a special emphasis on intellectual property. Subsequently he gained more insight into international aspects of intellectual property having been awarded his Master of Laws degree, LL.M following studies at the School of Law, University of Exeter (UK), and at the Technical University of Dresden. His internship at the German Patent and Trade Mark Office in Munich furthered this insight. Again at the School of Law, University of Münster, he obtained his doctorate based on a comparative study on the delineation between trade mark rights and copyrights.

Rudolf Böckenholt is with BOEHMERT & BOEHMERT since 2001, starting as a research fellow and then as an articled clerk during attorney training. Since 2005, he is admitted to the bar, being awarded certified IP specialist in 2008.

Since 2009, he regularly contributes to the peer-reviewed law journal GRUR-Prax, discussing recent German and European Supreme Court decisions. He is also one of the authors of the Attorneys’ Handbook on Intellectual Property, and recently added his insights to procedural provisions of the Regulation on European Union Trade Marks in an English commentary. Currently, he authors a chapter about protection and enforcement of names and trade marks around Real Estate objects and projects in the forthcoming Attorneys’ Handbook on Real Estate Management, the publication of which is scheduled for early summer 2021.

“The JUVE Manual 2019/2020 counts him among the frequently recommended lawyers in the field of trade marks and competition, and finds him “very knowledgeable”, “very client-focussed”, “assertive” but always “kind and fair” at the same time.  In LEGAL 500 2020/2021 (Germany and EMEA), he is included as a consultant who, "due to his vast experience, manages to pursue the most efficient strategy for the client" and "achieves excellent results through his realistic assessments". Handelsblatt has ranked him among "Germany's Best Lawyers" in the field of intellectual property since 2017, Best Lawyers since 2018, and he is listed in LEGAL 500 as "Partner of the Next Generation". Since 2017 he is listed in the International Euromoney Expert Guide as "LMG Rising Star". He is regularly included in the "Kanzleimonitor", an empirical study of the German Association of Corporate Lawyers (BUJ).

He is an active member of the International Trademark Association (INTA), Intellectual Property Owners Association (IPO), European Communities Trade Mark Association (ECTA), Pharmaceutical Trade Marks Group (PTMG), the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR) and a number of other professional organizations in intellectual property.

Dr. Rudolf Böckenholt, LL.M.
Rechtsanwalt
Fachanwalt für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz
Kontakt

Hollerallee 32
28209 Bremen
Deutschland

T +49 (421) 340 90

F +49 (421) 349 17 68

Ihre Nachricht an Dr. Rudolf Böckenholt, LL.M.

boeckenholt_portrait.jpg

Rudolf Böckenholt konzentriert sich zum einen auf das Marken- und Designrecht, wobei er strategisch zum Aufbau eines Schutzrechtsportfolios berät und dieses dann auch durchsetzt, insbesondere in Verletzungs- und Grenzbeschlagnahmesachen sowie Widerspruchsverfahren weltweit. Zum anderen berät er zu schutzrechtsbezogenen Verträgen, insbesondere Lizenzen. Er vertritt hauptsächlich mittelständische und große international tätige Unternehmen aus den Praxisgruppen Konsumgüter, Lebensmittel, Medien und Pharma. Rudolf Böckenholt berät häufig an den Schnittstellen zwischen den Disziplinen, zum angrenzenden Pharma- und Lebensmittelrecht, und zum allgemeinen Wettbewerbsrecht.

Rudolf Böckenholt studierte Rechtswissenschaften und englisches Recht an der Universität Münster mit Schwerpunkt im Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz. Anschließend erwarb er den Magister Legum (LL.M.) im internationalen Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz nach Studienaufenthalten an der School of Law, University of Exeter (UK), der Technischen Universität Dresden und am Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt. Seine Doktorarbeit an der Universität Münster betrifft die Abgrenzung zwischen Urheber- und Markenrecht.

Bei BOEHMERT & BOEHMERT ist Rudolf Böckenholt seit 2001. Seit 2005 ist er als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen, seit 2008 Fachanwalt für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz.

Für die Zeitschrift GRUR-Prax bespricht Rudolf Böckenholt seit 2009 regelmäßig aktuelle obergerichtliche Urteile. Er ist Autor marken- und wettbewerbsrechtlicher Kommentierungen, insbesondere im Münchener Anwaltshandbuch Gewerblicher Rechtsschutz und im englischsprachigen Kommentar zur Unionsmarkenverordnung. Aktuell ist er mit einem Beitrag zu Schutz- und Verwertungskonzepten von Marken und Namen für Immobilien(projekte) im 2021 erscheinenden Handbuch Immobilienwirtschaftsrecht engagiert.

Das JUVE-Handbuch 2019/2020 zählt ihn in der Rubrik Marken- und Wettbewerbsrecht zu den empfohlenen Anwälten, und hält ihn für "fachlich sehr fundiert", "sehr mandantenorientiert", "durchsetzungsstark" aber auch stets "angenehm und fair". In Legal 500 2020/2021 (Deutschland und EMEA) wird er als Berater geführt, der es „aufgrund seiner großen Erfahrung schafft, die für den Mandanten effizienteste Strategie zu verfolgen“ und „durch seine realistischen Einschätzungen hervorragende Ergebnisse erzielt“. Das Handelsblatt zählt ihn seit 2017 zu „Deutschlands Beste Anwälte“ im Bereich Intellectual Property, Best Lawyers seit 2018. In LEGAL 500 wird er als „Partner der nächsten Generation“ geführt. Seit 2017 wird er im Internationalen Euromoney Expert Guide als „LMG Rising Star“ geführt. Ebenfalls regelmäßig ist er im „Kanzleimonitor“, einer empirischen Studie des Bundesverbands der Unternehmensjuristen (BUJ), gelistet.

Er ist aktives Mitglied der International Trademark Association (INTA), der Intellectual Property Owners Association (IPO), European Communities Trade Mark Association (ECTA), Pharmaceutical Trade Marks Group (PTMG), der Deutschen Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR) und diverser Fördervereine im Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz.