Dr.-Ing. Frank Bernhardt
Patent Engineer
Contact

Pettenkoferstraße 22
80336 Munich
Germany

T +49 (89) 55 96 80

F +49 (89) 55 96 85 090

Your message to Dr.-Ing. Frank Bernhardt

Dr.-Ing. Frank Bernhardt Porträt

Frank Bernhardt works in all areas related to patent prosecution, in particular before the German Patent and Trademark Office and the European Patent Office. This includes conducting searches, drafting patent applications and replying to official actions. Furthermore, he is involved in opposition proceedings and performs freedom-to-operate analyses.

He is specialised in the areas of production engineering, materials science and physics and also works in the fields of automotive engineering, electrical engineering, medical devices and optics.

Frank Bernhardt studied physics at the Ludwigs-Maximilians-University of Munich with a focus on biophysics and innovation management. He wrote his diploma thesis on the manufacturing and on the properties of bioresorbable coatings based on magnesium-zirconium.

During his doctorate at the RWTH Aachen University, he worked at the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology Aachen as an expert for interface and surface effects, especially with regard to manufacturing processes in forming technology, machining technology and laser technology. For his PhD thesis he investigated degradation mechanisms of coated hard metal forming tools during precision glass pressing. He co-authored several scientific publications in international research journals and was awarded the Best Paper Award at ASPEN 2013.

After completing his doctorate, Frank Bernhardt worked in the presidential staff of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Munich, where his responsibilities included research coordination and internal research funding. As part of his work at the Fraunhofer Future Foundation, he also supervised large-scale projects set-up to build strategic patent portfolios for the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

Since April 2019, Frank Bernhardt is working in intellectual property at BOEHMERT & BOEHMERT.

Dr.-Ing. Frank Bernhardt
Patentingenieur
Kontakt

Pettenkoferstraße 22
80336 München
Deutschland

T +49 (89) 55 96 80

F +49 (89) 55 96 85 090

Ihre Nachricht an Dr.-Ing. Frank Bernhardt

Dr.-Ing. Frank Bernhardt Porträt

Frank Bernhardt ist in allen Bereichen der Patenterteilungsverfahren, insbesondere vor dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt und dem Europäischen Patentamt, tätig. Hierzu gehören unter anderem die Durchführung von Recherchen, Ausarbeitung von Patentanmeldungen und Beantwortung von Amtsbescheiden. Darüber hinaus ist er an Einspruchsverfahren beteiligt und führt Freedom-to-Operate-Analysen durch. 

Er ist spezialisiert auf den Gebieten der Produktionstechnik, Materialwissenschaft und Physik und arbeitet zudem in den Bereichen der Automobiltechnik, Elektrotechnik, Medizintechnik und Optik.

Frank Bernhardt studierte Physik an der Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München mit den Schwerpunkten Biophysik und Innovationsmanagement. Seine Diplomarbeit schrieb er über die Herstellung und die Eigenschaften bioresorbierbarer Beschichtungen auf Magnesium-Zirkonium-Basis. 

Während seiner Promotion an der RWTH Aachen University arbeitete er am Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie Aachen als Experte für Grenz- und Oberflächeneffekte, insbesondere in Bezug auf Fertigungsverfahren der Umformtechnik, Zerspanungstechnik und Lasertechnik. In der Dissertation befasste er sich mit Degradationsmechanismen beschichteter Hartmetall-Umformwerkzeuge beim Präzisionsglaspressen. Er ist Autor mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Publikationen in internationalen Fachzeitschriften und ausgezeichnet mit dem Best Paper Award im Rahmen der ASPEN 2013.

Frank Bernhardt arbeitete nach seiner Promotion im Präsidialstab der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in München, unter anderem in der Forschungskoordination und in der internen Forschungsförderung. Im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit bei der Fraunhofer-Zukunftsstiftung betreute er Großprojekte zum Aufbau strategischer Patentportfolios für die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. 

Seit April 2019 ist Frank Bernhardt für BOEHMERT & BOEHMERT im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz tätig.